EKITI 2022: Governor Fayemi’s Candidate, Biodun Oyebanji Emerges Winner Of Ekiti APC Primary Election

The Ekiti State All Progressives Congress (APC) Primary Election Committee has announced Governor Kayode Fayemi’s ‘anointed’ candidate, Mr Biodun Abayomi Oyebanji, as the party’s flag bearer in the gubernatorial election coming up around June this year.

The Chairman of the committee alongside Governor of Jigawa State, Badaru Abubakar, announced the winner of the exercise on Thursday night at the state party secretariat in Ado-Ekiti. According to Abubakar, Oyebanji who was the immediate past Secretary to the state Government (SSG) emerges with total number of 101,703 votes to defeat seven other aspirants of the party.

Biodun Abayomi Oyebanji

The other candidates on the platform of the party had earlier withdrawn from the exercise.

According to a statement by the committee’s Chairman on Thursday night, the names of those who withdraw from the exercise are former Governorship aspirant, Kayode Ojo; Demola Popoola; former Minister of Works, Senator Dayo Adeyeye; House of Representatives member, Femi Bamisile; Bamidele Faparusi; National Assembly member, Senator Opeyemi Bamidele; and Afolabi Oluwasola.

9jafocus News gathered according to the statement, that they alleged the primary election committee was made up of loyalists of Governor Kayode Fayemi of Ekiti State, claiming that the governor was attempting to impose Oyebanji on them.

The Statement Reads, “The seven aspirants herein received with rude shock and dismay the purported list of local government election committee and ward election committee made up solely by party members and political appointees that had before now openly endorsed the candidacy of Mr Biodun Abayomi Oyebanji the immediate past secretary to the State Government.

“It is on record that the Government of Governor Kayode Fayemi has given its unwavering support to the candidacy of Biodun Oyebanji, it is common knowledge that the Governor and most appointees of the governor are openly rooting for and supporting Biodun Oyebanji’s aspiration to become the flag bearer of our great party.

“What is more disturbing is the fact that a simple glance at the names of the persons appointed as members of both committees would reveal that it is made up of appointees of government who are all supporters of a candidate in the primary election they are appointed to superintend on.

“The seven candidates herein are loyal, faithful and committed party members who are sincerely concerned about the chances of the party in the forthcoming 2022 governorship election where an imposition is allowed to override a democratic primary election for determining its flag bearer.

“We request that both the local government election committee and ward election committee that were constituted on the list already in circulation be disbanded and replaced with names that would reinforce internal democracy and uphold the aims and objectives of the party.”


Your email address will not be published.